Royal Bridesmaids by Stephanie Laurens, Gaelen Foley, and Loretta Chase Review

Royal Bridesmaids is an anthology collection including A Return Engagement by Stephanie Laurens, The Impostor Bride by Gaelen Foley, Lord Lovedon’s Duel by Loretta Chase.

A Return Engagement has Lady Nell Daughtery escorting her sister to marry the Prince of Lautenberg, little does Nell know that not only will she have to assist her sister to the alter, she will have to deal with the one man who got away. The Imposter Bride Lady Minerva has escorted the spoiled Princess to marry Prince Tor in an attempt to end a decades long war but when the bride disappears Lady Minerva is left to save both countries from erupting into war again. Lord Lovedon’s Duel  Chloe and her sister, the bride, overhear the Earl of Lovedon stating that the marriage is a match made in money, Chloe does what any family member would do and challenges the Earl to a duel.

Royal Bridesmaids is a cute collection of short stories revolving around the bridesmaids to the royal brides. The collection is a quick read (I finished it in one afternoon).  The Imposter Bride was an unexpected historical novel (not your traditional English story) and Lord Lovedon’s Duel  was entertainingly humorous, I enjoyed all three stories. The novel is worth a read so I gave it 3 stars but not something you should drop everything to run out and purchase. The page length listed is misleading, the collection has a sneak peak of all three authors next releases so the stories themselves take up much less than the stated page length. Right now the listed price for the ebook is $1.99 and I feel like the anthology is worth the price but I probably wouldn’t pay a whole lot more than that, given the length of the actual stories. Like I said, worth a read for the cute stories.



Title: Royal Bridesmaids

Author: Stephanie Laurens, Gaelen Foley and Loretta Chase

Format: eBook

Page Nos.: 304


Publisher: Avon Impulse

Release Date: July 2012

Available for purchase: Amazon

Reviewer: Jessica


**I received a copy of this book from the publisher but was not required to provide a review and it did not impact my review in any way.

 Taylor Decker Authentic Jersey

The Lost Night by Jayne Castle Review

Rachel Bonner, trained to recognize the auras of criminals, has finally found some peace on Rainshadow Island with her dustbunny. In The Lost Night by Jayne Castle, Rachel’s peace is upset when for one night she can’t remember what happened but was found wandering outside the dangerous Preserve. When things start mysteriously happening in Rainshadow, Rachel decides she must work with the charismatic Harry Sebastian to figure out what happened to that lost night.

Harry Sebation, descendant of the notorious pirate who originally settled Rainshadow Island, has been charged by his family to figure out what is going wrong at the Preserve and fix the problem before someone gets injured or killed. Harry was attracted to Rachel from the very first time he met her but if he can’t figure out what happened to her she may not live long enough for him to preserve a relationship.

The Lost Night is the second book in the Rainshadow  series and takes us back to the reclusive Rainshadow Island, home of individuals who prefer to live off the grid but watch out for each other. We got a little taste of the Preserve, the mysterious area protected by a psychic fence, in Canyons of Night. The Lost Night follows Jayne Castle’s standard story, high level psychic characters, scary killer, cute dust bunny but when Rachel and Harry enter the Preserve the story takes a fabulous turn into the fantastic. The story went a direction I didn’t expect and I loved the descriptions of what Harry and Rachel find. I love all of the Jayne Castle stories that take place on the world of Harmony and The Lost Night is a great beginning (kind of) to a new line in the Harmony series.

Rainshadow Reading Order:

Canyons of Night (connected but part of the Looking Glass Trilogy) 

The Lost Night



Title: The Lost Night

Author: Jayne Castle

Format: Paperback, eBook

Page Nos.: 352

ISBN: 978-0515152845

Publisher: Jove

Release Date: September 4, 2012

Available for purchase: Amazon

Reviewer: Jessica


**I received a copy of this book from the publisher but was not required to provide a review and it did not impact my review in any way. Jacob deGrom Authentic Jersey

Haven 6 by Aubrie Dionne Review

In Haven 6 by Aubrie Dionne, Eridani has struggled to find her place aboard a transport space ship traveling through space on its way to a new planet for colonization known to the inhabitants of the ship as Haven 6. On a ship with a limited DNA pool, every bonding of mates is carefully selected but Eri is the result of an illegal bonding and, as a result, has no life mate of her own. Eri has also been given the job of linguist, stuck away in a small office away from others charged with remembering the languages of the planet the colonist left centuries ago. As their ship nears Haven 6, they discover that there are beings already inhabiting the planet and Eri is assigned to the exploratory team to contact the locals and return with the information on how to defeat them.

Striver, descended from pirates and colonists from Old Earth is the leader of the group on Haven 6. Striver saves Eri and her team from attack fro the Lawless ones, outcasts from the carefully maintained society on Haven 6. Striver and Eri are drawn to each other but each must deal with the loyalties they have to their people and eventually must decide what is the best course for everyone wanting to live on Haven.

Unlike the other two books I have read in A New Dawn series (which I devoured in one sitting), I struggled to get into the story of Haven 6. But once I was a couple of chapters in then I was hooked and had to find out if Striver and Eri would be able to come to a solution for everyone. Haven 6 is the third/fourth book (depending upon how you consider prequels) but you don’t need to read the other books in the series to understand what is going on, each book is its own world that is being colonized by different ships that have left Earth after it became uninhabitable. The premise of the series is intriguing, what would you do if you were raised on a ship that has been traveling through space for centuries, the descendant of individuals who were born, spent their entire lives and died in space, and suddenly that existence is coming to an end as you arrive at your new world. Would you still blindly follow the rules/orders that were so necessary while you were traveling in space but suddenly aren’t so important? How does free will work in an uber structured society? Would you be strong enough to do something different? In Haven 6 this is exactly where Eri finds herself, being ordered to bring about the death and destruction of the inhabitants of Haven, Eri has to reevaluate what is truly in the best interest of the group and what is in the best interest of herself. They entire series is worth a read.

A New Dawn Reading Order:

A Hero Rising (prequel)

Paradise 21(read my review here)

Tundra 37 (read my review here)

Haven 6



Title: Haven 6

Author: Aubrie Dionne

Format: Paperback, eBook

Page Nos.: 326

ISBN: 978-1937044855

Publisher: Entangled

Release Date: September 11, 2012

Available for purchase: Amazon

Reviewer: Jessica


**I received a copy of this book from the publisher but was not required to provide a review and it did not impact my review in any way.

 Jeremy Lane Jersey