Liar’s Game by Kait Gamble Review

Most of the universe believe that Aurelia Popkiss died and in Liar’s Game by Kait Gamble, Aurelia works hard to keep it that way, but when a stowaway threatens that secret, Aurelia and her crew must figure out if the stowaway is telling the truth before its too late.  Traveling the universe in her space ship, Aurelia and her crew have grown close through their experiences, however, Aurelia wants to get closer to one particular crew member but fears she is misreading his signals.

At only 92 pages, Liar’s Game is a quick read but enjoyable nonetheless. Aurelia is a reserved individual and Gamble does a great job interweaving her back story with the current story taking place. There were a couple of twists and turns I didn’t expect as well as some predictable plot line. My only complaint was the story was so short, it felt like the author could have done a bit more with the conflict between Aurelia and her father. I hope the author is planning on more stories involving this space crew and their adventures together.

You can read an excerpt here.



Title: Liar’s Game

Author: Kait Gamble

Format:  eBook

Page Nos.: 92

AISN: B00815Q71C

Publisher: Carina Press

Release Date: July 2012

Available for purchase: Amazon

Reviewer: Jessica


**I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley but was not required to provide a review and it did not impact my review in any way. Weston Richburg Womens Jersey

Wednesday Words: My Life In France by Julia Childs

In honor of what would have been Julia Child’s 100th birthday I thought we could all use a little of Julia’s wisdom:

“This is my invariable advice to people: Learn how to cook- try new recipes, learn from your mistakes, be fearless, and above all have fun!”

My Life In France by Julia Childs

“Find something you’re passionate about and keep tremendously interested in it.”

-Julia Childs

 DeMar DeRozan Jersey

Sweet Talk by Julie Garwood Review

When Olivia MacKenzie meets FBI agent Grayson Kincaid, it is just after the worst job interview in her life. In Sweet Talk by Julie Garwood, Olivia has fought to get to the position that she has and has to continue fighting against her family. Suspecting her father of being a con artist, Olivia has taken a job with the IRS with one goal in mind, finding evidence that her father is misusing client funds but she gets distracted from her goal after she meets Grayson.

FBI agent Grayson Kincaid first encounters Olivia MacKenzie when a sting operation he has been working on goes awry. He is struck by her beauty but it is her calm reaction to the tense situation that she unexpectedly finds herself in that blows him away. When Olivia’s life is threatened, Grayson is determined to protect her regardless of the cost.

Sweet Talk by Julie Garwood immediately sucked me in, Olivia’s worst first interview was such a well written scene, the prologue before that was heat-touching, making me love Olivia for what she did and what she and the Pips went through. But after that great beginning the novel just lost steam, after liking Grayson in that first scene I didn’t like him until about the middle of the novel. He totally redeemed himself by the end of the novel but there was some time there were I really wondered if he would. Lucky for him I really liked Olivia and the other Pips so I pushed through until he got better, then I was sucked in and couldn’t put Sweet Talk down. The Buchanan series has some connected characters but you don’t need to have read any of the previous novels as Sweet Talk is a stand alone novel. I really struggled with what rating to give this novel, my dislike of Grayson in the first half of the book made me want to give it a three but the great ending made me want to give it a four, so really I give it a 3.5 but since I don’t have an image for that I am going to round up to a four. I really hope the Julie gives all the rest of the Pips their own stories.

You can read an excerpt here.

Buchanan Reading Order:




Murder List

Slow Burn

Shadow Dance

Fire and Ice


The Ideal Man (you can read my review here)

Sweet Talk



Title: Sweet Talk

Author: Julie Garwood

Format: Hardbound, eBook

Page Nos.: 368

ISBN: 978-0525952862

Publisher: Dutton Adult

Release Date: August 7, 2012

Available for purchase: Amazon

Reviewer: Jessica


**I received a copy of this book from the publisher  but was not required to provide a review and it did not impact my review in any way. Justin Smoak Jersey

Monster In My Closet by R.L. Naquin Review

Zoey Donovan knows that monsters don’t exist but it is hard to ignore one when it is baking muffins in your kitchen. Monster In My Closet by R.L. Naquin begins the Monster Haven series, Zoey has always been drawn to those who are emotional, feeling a need to help those who were upset but after her closet monster moves in with her, Zoey discovers a whole new world of creatures that need her help.

Not only is Zoey trying to help those around her, both human and nonhuman, now she has an incubus trying to feed off of her. As if that wasn’t enough, Zoey has to still keep her wedding planning business.  To further complicate things, Zoey has finally found an attractive man who seems interested in her but something seems a little off about him.

I am picky about the urban fantasy novels I read, most of them are a little dark for my tastes, but after reading the opening lines of Monster In My Closet I knew I had to read this novel. Any heroine who starts off the novel by trying to use a toilet brush as a weapon to protect herself, and then realizes it wasn’t her best decision, deserves a chance. I flew through Monster In My Closet, giggling at Zoey’s actions, Naquin’s unique take on paranormal/mythical creatures, and appreciating Zooey’s heart. In a genre that is saturated with novels, Naquin’s voice is an upbeat take in the urban fantasy scene.  Naquin’s characters leave one with an upbeat feeling, hopeful for the future and the events to come, not depressed by the choices that had to be made. I eagerly look forward to Pooka In My Pantry.

You can read an excerpt here.

Monster Haven Reading Order:

Monster In My Closet

Pooka In My Pantry (March 2013)



Title: Monster in My Closet

Author: R.L. Naquin

Format:  eBook

Page Nos.: 209

AISN: B00814M3A2

Publisher: Carina Press

Release Date: July 30, 2012

Available for purchase: Amazon, eHarlequin

Reviewer: Jessica


**I received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley but was not required to provide a review and it did not impact my review in any way. Harrison Smith Womens Jersey